The Exit -

Mit THE EXIT haben wir ein mal wieder ein richtiges Schmankerl am Start, einen neuen Stern am Himmel anspruchsvoller alternativer Rockmusik.

In den USA wurde die Band zunächst vom New Yorker Label Some Records entdeckt, in Deutschland kommt das Debütalbum "HOME FOR AN ISLAND" nun über das neue feine Label RED INK auf den Markt. Die New Yorker haben mit diesem ihrem zweiten Longplayer nach eigener Aussage ein Album über die individuelle Rebellion gemacht - und konnten für die Produktion von "HOME FOR AN ISLAND" niemand geringeren verpflichten als die Producerlegende Ron St. Germain (Living Colour, Bad Brains, 311, Soundgarden, Dregd u.v.a.).
Die Veröffentlichung ist der 02.06.2006, und bereits jetzt können wir mächtig durchstarten!

Denn bereits am 20.04.2006 waren THE EXIT in Berlin im Vorprogramm von We Are Scientist auf der Bühne und haben sich der deutschen Öffentlichkeit präsentiert.

Hier für alle "Engländer" unter Euch die Original-Bio der Band The Exit:.

I left my Home For An IslandLife has not been normal this decade. The clock may have rolled over without a hitch in the year Y2K, but ever since then, living in the USA has been fraught with tragedy, tension and paranoia. It’s a time of upheaval reminiscent of the late ‘60s, but instead of providing a soundtrack for these troubled times, rock bands have been reluctant to get to the messy emotional truths of living in the 2000s.

Enter The Exit and their dynamic, haunting second album Home For An Island. It’s the first album that captures what it feels like to live in the aftermath of contested elections, terrorist attacks and war. But The Exit isn’t preaching or trying to change the world, they’re simply doing what all great bands do: reflecting the times they live in with their music. There may be some cutting social commentary on Home For An Island, but it’s interwoven with songs about being in love and songs about being alive. And what makes it a bracing listen is how the ideas of songwriters Ben Brewer and Jeff DaRosa are given weight by the band’s music, which is every bit as evocative and powerful as the words. It’s an album that draws from the past – particularly in how different sounds and styles intermingle – but there’s a palpable freshness and strength to the band’s attitude that makes it utterly, unquestionably contemporary.

“This album is about rebellion. It’s about getting to what you feel inside yourself and questioning what the world is trying to turn you on to. It’s about trying to find love while everything else around you is falling apart,” says Brewer. DaRosa agrees, “It was a fucked up year when we were writing it. I was 21, living on my own for the first time and in New York City. “I was sitting in my room wondering what the hell is going on in this world. I would hide in my room and play the guitar on my four-track and not talk to anybody.”

The Exit function similarly to the Clash or Husker Du. Two individual songwriters, that each posses their own unique sound and point of view, while complimenting each other. If DaRosa’s work tends toward introspection, Brewer’s songs are searing and bold, while both attack affairs of the heart and matters of the world. In an age when new acts seem risk adverse, it’s exciting to have a band tackle big ideas, but it would all be nothing more than good intentions if the music wasn’t exciting, and Home For An Island is riveting music. It’s grounded in punk rock but isn’t content to stay there. Hints of dub reggae float through the minor-key melodies, pop hooks draw listeners into some dark places, moods change from song to song, sometimes within a song. “We want to create an ultimate mix tape every time we make an album,” says DaRosa. “You know how people make a shuffle on their iPod? I want to make it feel like with our record you don’t have to skip around because every song is engaging.”



The Exit - das neue Album

The Exit

Home For An Island is a significant leap forward from their 2001 debut New Beat. According to Brewer, fans said that their first album was “good, but this is nothing like you guys are live.” Here, they capture the dynamic energy of the Exit’s live show, but also stretch into new territory. Gunnar explains: “When you’re getting good at an instrument you kind of go overboard. Then after a year of doing that you start to appreciate that simpler and tastier is better. We’re all coming around to that now. “ “It’s way more musically adept,” agrees Brewer. “We have some poppy stuff on this record, but it’s deeper. It’s a little darker.”
“We’re a band that’s left of center,” continues Brewer. “We have technical prowess, but we’re not trying to write jam band, crazy music – which we could do all day. We really like songs. I believe that if you’re gonna sit down and play a song on the acoustic guitar and it works, then it’s a great song.” But even if their definition of what constitutes a great song is classic, The Exit was designed to be unconventional. “The idea of this band was always to be something without limits,” explains Gunnar, “something without genres.” DaRosa concurs: “A lot of people want one thing. We’re not interested in recreating one sound all the time.”

Partially due to their extensive experience on the road – “We’ve played 385 shows in three years of touring,” says Gunnar, “We’re road warriors when it comes to it” – the Exit have developed into a band that are the farthest thing from predictable, as Home For An Island proves. But at its core, the album is about songs that connect on a gut level. “I really believe in sincere songs,” explains DaRosa. “I’ve been finding it in a lot of folk music and that’s when I wrote Soldier,” a stark, spare song that is one of the highlights of the album. Even though Home For An Island roils with the upheaval from the first half of the first decade of the 21st Century, what makes the album timeless is how it speaks to the head and heart. As DaRosa says, “Everybody wants to have love.” Love and hope may not be easy to find these days, and they never come easy. The thing that makes Home For An Island such a captivating listen is that The Exit acknowledge that after all the turmoil and uproar, it is love and hope that make it all worthwhile. josh hartnett.

The Exit

auf CD

The Exit


Tracklisting des Albums:

1. Don't Push (4:12)
2. Let's Go to Haiti (2:24)
3. Back to the Rebels (3:15)
4. Home for an Island (5:05)
5. Pressure Cooker (3:39)
6. Tell Me All Again (3:32)
7. The Sun Will Rise in Queens (4:36)
8. Soldier (4:00)
9. Warm Summer Days (5:34)
10. Darlin (4:07)
11. So Leave Then (4:01)
12. Already Gone (4:54)

Das Video zu "Lets Go To Haiti":



 HP The Exit


© Red Ink / Vollkontakt

Hinweis: Es ist STRIKT verboten, die Fotos zu verlinken. Kopieren ist nur für private Zwecke erlaubt. Beachtet die Urheberrechte.